TOEFL SPEAKING TASK 3: A letter to school suggests that they should add some international TV channels to receive international programs on the TV in the dormitory.

Nowadays, countries, these days have cities with people from different parts of the world. People from different cultural backgrounds follow their respective traditions. With such versatile cultures, it is possible for one cultural group to offend another group of people that have a completely different perspective of their own. This raises the question of how the government can assert harmony amongst these people. Harmony might be ensured by declaring public holidays for important religious days and creating public societies for different ethnicities. Declaring public holidays for auspicious religious days such as Hari Raya, Deepavali, and a Christmas show respect to religions and their practices. For example, Singapore is a country that consists of a majority of people from three ethnicities, namely Indian, Chinese and Malay. Public holidays are declared for most of the auspicious day that is celebrated by these ethnicities. This demonstrates the government’s interest in their well-being and brings joy and harmony to the people. Most cities have public societies of multiple religions where people from their respective backgrounds get together, organize activities and celebrate their religion. People join these societies to remind themselves of their religious practices while being away from their country. Governments can promote the formation of such societies for the people. For instance, India is home to more than thirty religions, therefore there are religious societies in many cities where families meet together. In conclusion, to invoke peace and tranquility amongst people from different backgrounds, the motto of unity in diversity is most helpful, since if individuals are respected of their cultural and traditional backgrounds, they will welcome other people in their lives, and thus live in peacefully.