The university decides to remodel the dormitory and add a new space to it. Which space do you recommend to add to your dormitory? (1) Café (2) Study room (3) Game room.

Food is crucial for our survival. Nowadays, many consumers are eating food that has travelled thousands of miles away from their producers. Some people opine that it will be good for the environment if people only eat locally produced food. I agree with this view to a certain extent. In my opinion, consumption of local food will create jobs in the local economy and help the environment, but if people eat only locally produced food, they will have fewer choices. Environmental problems are a highly debated topic these days. Huge amounts of fossil fuels have to be burned to transport food to distant places. This causes considerable damage to the environment. There will be a massive reduction in the consumption of oil if people start preferring locally grown food and hence it is good for the planet. Another argument in favour of eating locally produced food is its nutrient value. Locally grown food is nutritious because it is free of preservatives. Also, locally grown fruits and vegetables are plucked when they ripen and this retains their nutritional content. By contrast, when they are transported from a distant place, they are plucked when they are still raw and then ripened with the help of chemicals. Regular consumption of such food items will lead to health problems in people. Even so, in my opinion, eating locally produced food alone is not a viable option because there is a limit to the kind of food that can be grown in each place. For instance, fruits like apples and grapes can only be grown in cold climates. Likewise, some fruits and vegetables only grow in hot climates. There are also many regions that are not suitable for cultivation. If people eat only what is available in their region, they choices will be limited. Hence, in my opinion, locally grown food should be given preference. Nevertheless, it should not be the only food available to people. To conclude, if people give preference to the local produce, it will certainly benefit their health, the environment and the local economy. Even so, in my opinion, eating locally cultivated food alone is not a viable option because it will seriously limit the food choices people have.