Today, TV channels provide men’s sport shows more than women’s sport shows. Why? Should TV channels give equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport?

During recent years, men’s sport TV programs are dominant in comparison with women’s ones such as football and baseball. This trend can be attributed to a whole of reasons. From my perspective, time broadcasting should be distributed equally for both gender shows. In this essay, the reasons would be discussed and my opinion would be clarified. There are several reasons why men’s sports shows are dominant. First, the deep-rooted image of women is feminine and inappropriate for competitive activities. In contrast, men whose innateness is masculine and much stronger. In fact, competitions involving men are much more aggressive and dramatic to watch, which captures viewer’s attention. For example, in Vietnam, men’s football events are preferred by the media and men footballers receive higher salaries than female players do. Therefore, due to high ratings, TV producers choose men to appear frequently in their sports channels. However, this trend should not continue due to a number of reasons. First, since the dominance of men’s sport TV shows leads to the deficient attention of women’s ones, the salary gap would be widened between both genders. Also, the image of a woman who participates in physical activities is not supported by the public eye, which has a negative impact on young girls' viewpoints. Girls would limit their career options in comparison with boys. Therefore, equal time for women’s sport and men’s sport could contribute to gender equality. In conclusion, they are benefits such as these which urges the TV broadcaster to produce men’s TV shows. Additionally, this imbalance should not be maintained due to gender inequality.