TOEFL essay: People learn in different ways. Some people learn by doing things; other people learn by reading about things; others learn by listening to people talk about things. Which of these methods of learning is best? Use specific examples. .

Learning is a process that starts the moment people came into the world and ends when they die. There are different ways of achieving important knowledge, depending on each stage of life. In my opinion, the most efficient way of learning is by reading about things, because many times only documented researches are able to provide realistic information. I will explain my statement in the following essay. First and foremost, some fields of interest can be studied only from printed materials such as books, magazines, newspapers, researches, reports. Furthermore, individuals go to University, because this is the ideal place where people enrich their knowledge and broaden their horizons. For instance, professors teach about management, psychology, mathematics and so forth, and whenever students are not able to understand some principle, professors provide explanations in detail. Moreover, professors recommend students books which are essential for their self-development. In fact, some printed materials are not available to the large public because they are antique and they are stored in big libraries. However, some Universities allow proficient students to study them, and therefore they have the opportunity to read unique books and acquire rare cognition. Second, people are interested in domains that influence life from other points of view. Since students cannot study infinite classes during college, they have to gain knowledge by investigating the matter by themselves. Fortunately, printed materials cover all the possible domains in the word. These might refer to religion, culture, sexuality, habits and other social behaviors which people may encounter in daily life. It is of paramount importance for each individual to learn about issues which are considered sensitive or less common because it will help them in establishing prolific and positive relationships. Not to mention that having a solid base about cultural habits, might avoid awkward situations. For instance, Indians are not eating cows, and an individual who is not aware of this cultural distinction is more prone to make a mistake and invite an Indian to a barbeque. The latter one might feel insulted, and as a consequence, this can ruin their relationship. To summarize, reading about things is certainly one of the best methods of learning. This is due to the fact that books provide significant information about many topics and domains of interests.