People learn in different ways. Some people learn by doing things; other people learn by reading about things; others learn by listening to people talk about things. Which of these methods of learning is best for you? Use specific examples to support your

It has been argued that online teaching has rendered attending lectures obsolete. Many university students believe that lecturers are not essential and they can learn alone using resources available on the internet. However, I disagree with this assumption, and I think lectures are still an important way of learning because it can be interactive, save time and effort for students, and help them pass their examinations. Lectures allow students to interact with academics which are usually experts on their subjects. Therefore, students can engage in discussion and ask questions which facilitate their understanding. Furthermore, many universities have upgraded their lecturers to more active project-based ones. Students are expected to solve problems and communicate with their classmates. For instance, in my Master course, the lectures were engaging because the lecturer divided us into groups and ask us to solve problems, and present our solutions. Unfortunately, not all lectures are interactive, nor all lecturers are engaging. In addition, attending lectures can save time and effort because lecturers present the topic in a simplified manner which facilitate learning. Students who decide not attend the lecturers would need more time to read and absorb the materials. Moreover, they would miss important information mentioned in the class which are not in available in other reading sources. This may affect their performance in examinations. Studies have shown that students who do not miss their lectures are more likely to have better grades. To conclude, despite the advance in teaching technology and the availability of online courses, lectures are still an effective teaching tool in academia particularly modern interactive lectures.