TOEFL essay: Many people visit museums when they travel to new places. Why do you think people visit museums? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People usually travel to explore a new place, and the best way to know more about a new place is to visit a museum dedicated to that locality. Museums have a collection of multiple artefacts, hence become a consolidated place to view many artefacts of local and historical significance of a particular area. If there wasn’t a meuseum the traveller might have to spend days exploring the country side and talking to local populace to gain the same knowledge. Hence, I believe travellers visit museums when they travel to a new place to understand the historical and cultural significance of an area. In my opinion travellers do this in two ways, first there are museums dedicated to a personality, family or an institution and then there are museums dedicated to society. Museums dedicated to popular institutions, like a royal family or a great personality like Mahatma Gandhi provide an in-depth knowledge of a specific subject. Often such museums are itself built at a place significant to the subject, which further adds to its values. For example, when I was young I visited Sabarmati Museum. The Museum is located at Sabarmati Ashram, this is the place where Mahatma Gandhi himself used to live. The museum was really good in taking its visitors through the journey of Mahatma Gandhi and his struggle for India’s Independence. The other kind of museums are ones dedicated to a society, showcasing the traditional culture and values. Once I had travelled to Kerala (A southern state in India), we visited a popular museum there, which showcased the local culture, festivals, tools, way of life etc. This provided a great opportunity to quickly learn about the place I had travelled to. Just like a library keeps all the books safe for everyone to step in and read. A museum keeps the history secure in its walls for people to explore. In today’s day and age of rapid globalisation, the way of life is becoming more and more similar among different communities. Hence, Museums play a very crucial role for someone travelling to a new place to know more about the local society.