Today's teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Adolescents nowadays face more challenges and stress than teenagers who lived in the past centuries. There are various reasons causing this, such as the busy lives they lead, the pressure that is put on them, and living in a consumeristic society. I fully agree with this view as I believe young people are highly stressed nowadays as compared to the past. One of the major contributions to adolescents’ stress is the fast-paced life that we are all living. People in the past lived slower lives as compared to today, leading to lower levels of stress. Teenagers are supposed to go to school, do their homework, study for their exams, excel academically, and participate in various activities. In addition to the aforementioned tasks, they are also required to socialize with their peers and even work part-time or volunteer to gain experience. All of these are factors that lead to high levels of stress and even mental health problems. For instance, introverted teenagers find it quite daunting to lead such a life since they crave downtime. Moreover, living in a consumeristic society has negative consequences on adolescents as well. The countless choices that exist in the marketplace nowadays put extra pressure on young people. They have to spend more time thinking about what to buy as compared to previous generations. This can be exemplified by a teenager who wants to buy a laptop and has to spend days or even weeks to decide which model to buy due to the endless models and specifications available. To conclude, young people who live nowadays are faced with multiple challenges leading to increased stress levels as opposed to previous generations. The busy lives they lead in addition to the plethora of choices that surround them are only some factors that affect them adversely.