Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believes that it is better to get a job straight after school.

Although it is considered by some people that the best way to securing a good job is being a university graduate, there are others who think that starting work after school is a better option. In my opinion, deciding to work is beneficial in the field of business, whereas completing university coursework is most useful in an academic career. On the one hand, it is attractive to find work after school, according to some people because they will have the opportunity to gain experience related to their chosen profession and acquire top soft skills such as time management, leadership, flexibility, and teamwork. This results in promotions and a successful career. For example, not only has the job market been increasingly becoming competitive, but there are also sometimes an overwhelming number of applicants for one position in a company. Therefore, it is commonly believed by some people that learning key soft skills that can be valuable to a company and having relevant experience in that line of work can put one ahead of the game when applying for the position. On the other hand, some people think that it is more advantageous to pursue higher education after school. Since obtaining a university certificate is an indicator of perseverance, dedication, passion, commitment, and intelligence needed to study a degree course for three or four years, a university degree is a convincing proof of the competence of the applicants. As a result, most employers will be more impressed by candidates who have qualifications from a university than those with fewer qualifications, which in turn leads university graduates not only to better job opportunities, but also to higher incomes. Finally, in my view, deciding whether to continue study beyond school level or start work straight after school should depend on the position being applied for. It is impossible to become a doctor, lawyer, or teacher without having academic qualifications, for instance. In business, however, it is more important for young people to get real experience and learn useful skills through work early so that they will be able to step into a position without further training and consequently be an immediate benefit to the company. Hence, people should ensure that they attain the relevant degree or indispensable skills before applying for a job in order to be successful in their careers. In conclusion, even though people may vary in their opinions, I think that being a successful career requires the relevant background either in tertiary education or work experience depending on the type of work and field.