As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities.

In the age of industrialization, making the greatest possible profit is supposed to be the main purpose of any business. While this may be true to some extent, I believe the responsibilities of businesses should include making money and making contributions to the community. This can help not only the businesses grow, but also the whole country to develop. It goes without saying that earning profits is the ultimate aim of every company. The first reason to be mentioned is businesses pay taxes for the government. With that money, the government can build infrastructures such as hospitals, schools, and parks to take care of citizen’s mental and physical wellbeing, which can increase the standard of living of a certain country. Moreover, alongside the development of businesses, more jobs are created. A profitable company will consider expanding their business by building up other branches or investing overseas. The necessity for larger numbers of employees is prominent, which can solve the unemployment problem. On the other hand, social responsibilities should also be seen as a long run strategy of businesses. Firstly, businesses cannot earn profits without consideration about the impacts of their operations on the people and the natural surroundings. Companies have responsibilities to protect mother nature who provides them with various materials as well as the users who consume almost all of their products. Strengthening the mutual beliefs is a wise strategy. In addition, big successful corporations can contribute to the quality of life of the society through charity and financial scholarships. This is an investment for the future of those companies. For example, Unilever often organizes contests with a big award to support promising young generations. By doing so, it gains a lot of attention from the society, especially the unveiled talented actors who can become their efficient employees one day. In conclusion, the development of industry nowadays gives businesses various opportunities to earn high profit. These businesses, however, need to take these advantages not only to bolster the operations but also to improve the quality of life of the community.