Today's society is considered as materialistic. What are the reasons behind it? Give example.

Today's world is reeling under the materialism. It seems that trying to pursue material things over the personal values like love and friendships has become the new noun of today's company. Although materialism is associated with spending more money and debt problems yet people believe that owning and buying things are necessary means to achieve important life goals such as happiness, success and respect. This essay will shed some light on the reasons supporting the materialism in the following segments. One of the basic reasons behind it is that in today's society, people thrive to conquer more and more stuff in order to be happy as almost everyone tend to believe that the more we have, the better we are. Consequently, community always puts a person on a higher level with a lot or more luxuries that actually tends to be a measure of success in today's lives. People like to get admired by those who have less than you, and apparently, this is where materialism comes in. Another reason that hence linked with the materialism is media exposure that results in the wide field of information about shopping centres, technological gadgets and other sources like magazines, movies and music videos. By spending more time on social media rather than family, people have become more status conscious. The only purpose of life is to live a luxurious life by harnessing all the things available on above resources just to become a part of the elite of humanity by raising the brand culture. At last, I will pen down, saying that buying more things is self-destructive because it leads to depression, anxiety and all other worldly issues. Everyone needs a logical, rational and balanced approach towards buying different products from various sources.