Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflex the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Advertising is a powerful strategy that is adapted by different multinational and small-scale businesses. Since the newspapers began to publish in the early 20th century, companies in business and politicians advertise about agenda and products in newspapers. Some people believe that a considerable quantity of products sold represents an advertisement's influence rather than the people's real need. In my opinion, this is not the only or dominating factor for the consumer to buy a product. In this essay, I will discuss other factors that influence the buying decision of a customer. The Invention of television and the printing press allows the advertising industry to explore different ways to attract their customers. Nowadays, advertisers use graphics and quotations to influence their targeted audience. For example, when we watched any entertainment program or news bulletin on any channel, a commercial featuring a product appears on our screens. Some of their customers got so attracted to appealing eye ads that they eventually decide to purchase a product mainly because of powerful advertisement. Purchasing any product mindlessly just by seeing ads on Tv does not show what society needs. One marketing survey discloses that people who buy products just by seeing an ad in newspapers or on television are very few in population. The majority of the population buy a product or any sort of equipment according to their need. In my opinion, people's decision to buy goods is based on too many factors. For example, in the winter, more customers purchase heaters as compared to in the summer. This clearly shows people's need and demand over the power of advertisement. In conclusion, advertising is an excellent way to attract customers to spend more on products which they do not need in life. On the other hand, people based their purchasing decision based on their needs. Mindlessly purchasing habit, whether by watching ads or just by doing window shopping, is not suitable for a home's finances.