Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflex the power of advertising and not the needs of the society in which they are sold.

It is argued by some people that the surge in the sales of some common goods is due to the effects of advertisement and not as a result of societal needs. I agree with this view, as advertisement creates artificial needs and it encourages the purchase of items which may not be necessary due to the impression of success and glamour associated with them, Firstly, one major effect of advertisement is that it create artificial needs. In other words, it makes it difficult for people to distinguish between their wants and their needs. Thus, people are manipulated to purchase certain goods which are not essential in their environment and forgo more important items. For example, children may pester their parents to buy certain toys that are regularly advertised on the television even when there are other pressing needs. As a result, people often buy consumer goods that they do not really need. Furthermore, advertisement impresses success and glamour on some goods, which makes people to buy them. In an effort to increase the sales of some goods, famous individuals are use to advertise these items so that people will associate their success to those products or link some goods to affluence and power. This is often used in the promotion of products such as wears with their accessories and electronic devices. For instance, there have been a surge in sales of Apple phones to youths in Nigeria due to the fact that its advertisements link the products with successful individuals. If these goods are not glamourised through advertisements, many people would not have purchased them since there are more important needs in the society. In conclusion, I agree that advertisement has increased the sales of some consumer products which are not necessary. This occurs because advertisement creates artificial needs and it links some non-essential products to successs and glamour