Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

It is commonly agreeable that advertisements are the best way to promote the retail products or services. While the companies are enjoying using advertisements to boost their sales, some peoples do not justify the value of advertisement. One of which they do not accord with is that the advertisement is seemingly an intangible hand to force consumer to buy products or services they are unnecessary. In certain extent, this arguments is truth. This essay aims to exam the argument along with some examples. Obviously, some of the advertising means would significantly change customers' impression on the products, thus affecting their purchasing decision. One of the common practices is to endorse some popular singers or actors to gain the recognition on their product to the masses. However, some furious fans would blindly follow their idol and buy anything their idol use. To illustrate, the advertisements of many cutting-edge mobile phone in Asia usually feature with Korean pop singers because of their popularity among the Asian youngsters. Consequently, the new phone will be found on these youngsters hand whenever the updated mobile phone released. However, reaching the conclusion that celebrity branding may lead to wrong purchasing decision does not mean all other advertising means use the same philosophy. Contrarily to celebrity branding where the advertisement is focusing on the celebrity, a new type of advertisement has been developed on internet environment in which it focuses on user specific needs. Specially thanks to internet giant Google, it has collected all user data and analyse their daily needs, thereby tailoring an advertisement according to their interests. Therefore, customers will no longer buy thing they have no use because of an advertisement. All in all, some advertising means may lead to incorrect buying decision for customers while some are not. Personally, even though companies, on no ground for blame, use advertising as a tools to boost their sales, I would suggest that the companies need to carefully select the wise advertising method as it would have an adverse effect on their company image if the customer finds their product no use at all.