Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflects the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Nowadays, increase in sell of famous end user products shows the influence of advertisement over the actual needs of the nation where they are sold. This essay disagrees that showcasing of goods causes increase in the sales of consumables rather than the needs of the people. Hence, scale of preference and financial constrain will be discussed as factors that inhibit marketing of consumer goods. How important a product is to a consumer determines their willingness to buy them. Every individual has a scale of preference as well as a budget, these list ranges from the most important to the least Hence, the ones seen as significant are purchased first until the list is exhausted. Therefore, people concentrate more on what is needed in their home not regarding the commodities being shown on the media. For example, a research on the auction of tommy trimmers shows that 70% of the women with protruded abdomen will not buy a trimmer as they are of the opinion that the need is not as important as other needs outlined. Financial constrains limits people to acquire goods they perceive as needful. Human needs are insatiable therefore, when one need is met another arises. Although everyone has a desire to be able to achieve whatever wants they crave for, this craving is inhibited by lack of money. Thus, when capital is unavailable consumers will not purchase goods no matter the amount of awareness being made about a product. For instance, Dangote refinery confirmed that during the period of recession in Nigeria, the number of sold goods dropped not minding the measures kept in place to increase awareness. They ascertained it was caused by limited amounts of money owned by individuals. In conclusion, media broadcast of consumables does not enhance patronage rather people buy goods that are useful to them, as they consider its usefulness and availability of funds.