Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

A lot of firms feel that it’s good if their employees look presentable. Whereas, some believe their experience and knowledge is more important rather than their appearance. In my opinion, I think having an employee with a better understanding of work is superior to having someone who dresses smartly. To begin with, some people feel more confident about themselves when they look sharp. Wearing a better outfit also helps them in boosting their morale. Employees who dress smartly attract attention of their bosses and are preferred over others, when it comes to representing their company. In some fields, it matters quite a lot that an employee knows how to carry themselves. For example, sales companies opt for candidates who have a better dressing sense as customers feel more comfortable them. In contrast, many believe that a man’s work speaks for itself instead of his clothes. There are organisations which hire candidates based on their past experiences and knowledge. For example, a construction company is most likely to hire a candidate who is well versed with the aspects of construction and knows what he is doing compared to a candidate who dresses nicely but, does not possess experience. In conclusion, it can be said that both dressing smartly and quality of work are equally important. It depends upon the field of work a particular person is in. In my opinion, having a good dressing sense in good, but having good knowledge and performing is better.