Today the high sales of popular consumer goods Reflects the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what

The advertisements have changed drastically in the past few eras. This has affected the human society at large extent as people look into the advertisements and buy products that are superfluous to them, this is nothing but a business stunt. In this essay, I will delve into the influence of advertisements by throwing light on the food and toiletries industry and will support them through an example of incidents in India and Bangladesh in the year 2009. It is irrefutable that advertisements are important as they provide important information about the products, as well as the procedure to use it. For example, in 2009 there was an advertisement in India, about the instant grilled chicken and it was shown that if people buy it the lucky purchaser will get a good coin. The sale of the product went up and broke whole of the records. Later, the product was banned due to the deteriorate quality of chicken used. There was another incident in Bangladesh in about the same time, there was an advertisement that imposed the viability of hair shaving kit more than a scissors. The cost of the kit was kept for Rs 300 and the scissors cost was just Rs 10, but still the company was able to show a record sales growth in that year. Though there are few people who really evaluate the advertisement and the thing packed inside the package, but the major part of the population believes in the advertisements, therefore I agree that advertisements do not share the correct information about the product but influence people to purchase the products.