Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflects the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

After the second world war, the global economy was devastated, and companies were searching for a way to increase the amount of products they were selling. The advertisement was the key to this development, and till today it plays a vital role in all our economies. But does advertisement promote the needs of our society or does it undermine them? I agree with the second statement, and in this essay I will explain why. Firstly, on the one hand, due to the over consumptive way of living, individuals have the urge to buy as many things as they possibly can. Advertisement gives an excuse to spend their hard-earned money. To illustrate it in a realistic perspective, the worldwide economy institution surveyed and found out that, more than 20% of consumers are spending their cash on items they view on Tv or on the internet, through ads. However, this is only one perspective of this matter. Over consumption, on the other hand, that ads promote does not reflect the needs of the community. On the contrary, it can lead to a rise in people’s wastage of money, on items they only desire but do not really need. In turn, this can result in an addiction, which can leave them with no place to live. For example, the Greek government, uncovered data from the years 1990-2000, that depicted that, there had been a rise in homeless people, because of their over consumptive way of life. In the end, this trend only makes companies wealthier by the second. Taking everything into consideration, ads have a negative effect on us. But, it's my firm belief that, through proper education, people can realise that they do not require to buy things to fulfil themselves superficially.