Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

It is controversial issue that whether consumers are tricked by different forms of advertisement into buying goods unreasonably or that advertisement helps them make informed decisions to buy what they want. To some extent I agree that advertising has an impact on sales, but I would also agree that we do need most of the goods that we buy. On the one hand, there are people who argue that advertisement agencies nowadays have become extremely clever in convincing people to buy certain products. The reason for this belief is that many people are making purchases that simply do not reflect any of their personal needs because they just want to stay up date with the latest fashions. For instance, every year people can be seen queuing to buy the latest models of mobile phone, even when they already have a perfectly good phone that does not need replacing. Furthermore, advertisements encourage sale of inferior products so people are tempted by handsome prices without concerning about real quality as well as their demand. On the other hand, it is often argued that the benefits of advertisement considerably outweigh its disadvantages. Firstly, there are a lot of new useful products coming out every day and the only way to know more information about them is through advertisements. Therefore, if the customers have demand for any items, they will take some advertisements into account. One interesting illustration of this is the promotion of new medications which help doctors prescribe and educate patients about the benefits of these medications. In addition, new products almost always have improved features that buyers may want so they need to be advertised for the best sales. A new car, for example, may have greatly improved safety features, more economic to run or it may pollute less. In conclusion, while advertising obviously influences our buying behavior, I do not agree that people make decisions that against their real needs.