Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

In this modern era, all companies take support of advertisements to grow the company on the higher side. Consumers think that the reason for increasing sales is advertisements, not people 's needs. I disagree with this notion that people buy things according to their needs. Firstly, no doubt advertisements attract the people to buy the new things but in reality some people do not see the adverts of the newspaper or electronic media, because in this busy life nobody has time to read the newspaper. People prefer to buy things by comparing with other products and different shops. For example, nowadays mobile phones are more popular than everything and people purchase them by comparing other gadgets. They also see photo clarity of the phone, memory and most important price. Some richest people attract with the advertisement and they buy things looking at the adverts, not the price and need. On the other hand, companies make the advertisements of the popular products of the company. They give advertisements in newspapers, mobile phones and on the roads to influence the people to buy things. Advertisements focus on selling the brand image and they fail to focus on their drawbacks. They use glamorous and successful people to attract the customers. Advertisements often aim their marketing at children products to increase their sales and we are encouraged to associate certain brands with a higher status. In conclusion, not doubt advertising is necessary in free market economics and it create demand for the product but still reason for high sales is because the need of the society.