Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

As using more and more fossil oil products boomed in the last century, the issue of finding new and sustainable sources has risen significantly. There are groups of people that believe the exploratory expedition to discover pristine sources should continue in order to support its consumers. While this mindset may have its advantages, there are also some drawbacks that should be addressed. One of the main advantages that new excavations bring is that they ensure the continuity of the raw product to be used in the industries, for example oil refineries. By securing the flow of raw material, they avoid disrupting the current production line, which could have significantly damaging financial and technical effect. For example a petrochemical facility failing to procure the required materials, will be faced with monetary issued due to lack of sales and will also need an overhaul due to the interrupt in the production line. On the other hand, altering the whole implemented system to use another source is either extremely costly or sometimes impossible. For example, redesigning a powerplant to use clean energy instead of gas is ought to be incredibly expensive, let alone tremendously complex. But this should also be considered that discovering a new field which is rich enough with oil or gas to be used as an upcoming source is not always an economical choice either. The cost of exploration, research, analysis, and examination that should be done is remarkably high too. This would raise the price of the substance, which raises the production costs, making the whole process less cost-effective. The same reasoning could be applied to transportation. Since the new lands are likely to be more distant than the current sources, the added miles will emerge extra transportation cost, rendering the outcome less beneficial. By the way of conclusion, the ever increasing demand for oil and gas has forced us to look for fresh sources of this kind of fuel. For this reason, it is necessary to explore the parts of the planet that are still uninfluenced. Although this is apparently economically and technically helpful to entities consuming these materials, there might be unaccounted costs involved.