Today the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Nowadays, the debate whether the high revenue of popular consumer goods mirror the power of advertising or the real need of the society is the main leader, has caused a ruckus among myriads of citizens. Some may believe that the power of advertising is the main driver of these sales; however opponents disagree-claiming that high sales only result from customers' needs, with emphasise to my perspective, I acquiesce that although both influences the volume of goods sold, advertising has the major role in convincing customers. Extremely biased to my standpoint, there is a vast plethora of proofs of the power of advertising especially among teenagers. For example, a kid may be attracted to a certain advertisement on the TV only from its music or actors even if the product itself is irrelevant. First and foremost, not only can customers be attracted to superfluous products through social media, but also a salesman can convince you that you are in need of that product although you are not. It cannot be denied that various convincing techniques are taught in universities, which without negotiation have a major impact on items sold. Despite the obvious evidence mentioned, one cannot turn a blind eye on the incontestable proofs that the real needs of the society are the main controller. The first and the most salient point is that people normally buy what they need. In spite of the fact that it may seem weird that people will waste their money on a useless product just because of an advertisement, this actually happens especially in a luxurious product for a niche market. In conclusion, I have a resolute unwavering advocate that convincing skills are the bedrock of sales. Additionally, Not only do I suggest that customers should think wisely before taking the decision of buying a specific product, but I also suggest that they ask for their friends advise and their point of view should be taken into consideration.