Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike.

Road accidents have been one of the major reasons for deaths and severe injuries. It is stated by some individuals that in order to prevent accidents from happening, it is required to increase the minimum age for driving. This essay will completely disagree with this proposal and illustrate what other measures can prove to be more effective. According to one viewpoint, increasing the minimum driving age is beneficial because it is aimed at reducing the number of teenage drivers, since in numerous cases young drivers were the ones responsible for causing an accident. It is claimed that young people are not mature enough to fathom the idea that driving a vehicle is a serious task rather than a way of showing off in front of their peers. For example, the recently collected data suggests that for teenagers driving a car is a trendy activity to do. Thus, due to the mentioned above reason, increase of a minimum age of obtaining a driving license seems to be a feasible step. Nevertheless, road accidents happened not only as a result of a reckless behavior of young people. Statistics state that drunk driving causes accidents on the road nearly daily. In order to eliminate the danger, higher fines for drinking while operating a vehicle should be implemented because this step can bring financial damage to irresponsible drivers. For instance, should the fines account for 50% of an average salary, individuals will try to avoid being fined. Thus, bearing the mentioned idea in mind, other steps to avoid risks of road accidents should be taken. In conclusion, improvement of road safety has always been a vexed question. While some people consider that the rise of minimum driving age should be able to tackle this problem, this essay completely disagrees with the mentioned opinion since other steps might prove to be more beneficial and effective.