Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

These days the reason of rising sales of popular products is the result of advertisements that people watch on television or see on social media rather than buying products which are of necessity. In my opinion, the above statement is partially true as there are individuals who easily get influenced by advertisements, especially younger generation. On the contrary, there are people who keep track of their expenses and who do not believe in such advertisements. In today's digital world, there are various platforms to advertise ones product. There is - television, social media apps like Instagram and the Facebook. Youngsters, these days, spend lot of their time on mobile phones and hence are easily convinced by advertisements. Also, since the goods can be brought online convinently, it is easier to spend money on unnecessary things. Like, one of my friend buys clothes after she scrolls through a Myntra sponsered post on Instagram. If you see older generation, they have been taught, from childhood, the concept of saving. In addition, people who are in their 40s and above do not use their phones as much as younger adults and teenagers. Hence, they are less likely to get influenced by this kind of advertising. For instance, my father has been buying his clothes from Raymonds and still buys it from there without getting tempted by all the online ads. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that ever-rising sales of famous brands is power of advertising but not all people buy products being blinded by advertisements. Instead, such people buy products only if they are the need of the hour.