Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Technology has progressed at a swift rate especially in the automotive sector causing the car ownership to rise globally. It is true that the number of people having a car has increased exponentially in the last thirty years. While I completely agree with the argument that most metro cities have become ‘one big traffic jam’, there are many steps which governments can take to tackle this problem. The population in the world has been on a steady rise and with the rise in the population, the number of cars has also grown tremendously over the past 3 decades. In a family of 4, each person has their own car and with all these cars simultaneously on the roads, traffic jams have increased substantially. Another reason for the growth of traffic jams is the lack of good infrastructure. For instance, the roads and highways in India are subpar in quality, size and are not well maintained throughout the year and this is one of the main hurdles in the smooth functioning of traffic. However, there are several measures that the government can introduce to help solve the problem of traffic jams. Firstly, the governing body needs to introduce a law that restricts the number of cars on the road on any day. For instance, the Delhi government implemented the “odd/even” rule which helped in reducing the number of cars on the road by allowing only cars with odd numbers or even numbers to ply on the road on any day. Secondly, the government can improve infrastructure by widening the roads and carrying out maintenance to ensure smooth traffic operations. In conclusion, I am in complete agreement with the argument that the rise in car ownership over the past 3 decades has caused traffic jams in most major cities of the world. However, governments can improve the situation by making public transport more reliable.