Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Nowadays, demand trends of some in demand goods has significantly changed during past decades. Some people believe that this is because of advertisement industry, and individual’s needs do have an effective role in this concept. In this essay, I partly agree with this view and people’s choice as an effective factor should be taken in to account. On the one hand, human is free in his choices, while some external variables can influence on his decision. General speaking, each person has independent character to make a decision, and his/or her taste will be changed over the time. For example, in the fashion world, a shirt could be become as a trendy fashion item in the market in short period and would be attractive to the society immediately. Suddenly by changing the people’s taste this merchandise will be omitted from favorite list. However, there are many effective factors which should be considered regarding this issue such as advertisement. On the other hand, advertising has a significant role in making some goods popular. Because the most important item which can effect on the society’s opinion to buy specific goods, is advertisement. For instance, imagine an advertising campaign which is held to sale and promote a new ice cream, and their target are children and youth, in addition they try to motivate these potential customers to buy their product. They use several tricks such as creative ad TV advert or a famous cartoon’s character in the form of toys or stand up comedy to attract children’s opinion. In conclusion, although people have this freedom to buy their real needs without any enforcement, the power of advertisement is an undeniable fact which has been having huge effects on the society’s taste and influencing their selections in different ways.