Some people believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of it outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a worldwide tendency to know more than one language for professional success. Some people argue that a foreign language should be introduced to children as early as at primary school, while others claim that this should happen at secondary school. I will discuss both views before drawing a conclusion. The main reason why some people want a new language to be introduced at primary school is a belief that children under ten years old learn new languages faster. For example, a child of my friend learnt French during first two years of primary school, and by the end of the second year he became a fluent speaker. Unlike more senior learners, he progressed much faster and secured a place in a French summer school when he was eight years old. It is well known that fluency in a foreign language opens many doors to further education and, as a consequence, to a future career. Furthermore, children who are fluent in more than one language by the end of primary school can continue their education in secondary school abroad. Among those who insist on introduction to a new language only at secondary school, there is an opinion that workloads on primary students are already high. They claim that children under ten years old should have more spare time, and a new language could be learnt later, even though the progress in learning can be slower than that at primary school. However, I tend to disagree with this opinion because more subjects are started in secondary school. In conclusion, there are more reasons to begin learning a new language in primary school as it opens more educational opportunities at an early age, while postponed language course only delays the progress. I also believe that the workloads placed on primary school students can be adjusted not by the expense of important subjects like a foreign language.