Some people believe that using animals to test the safety of human medicines is cruel and unwarranted, whereas others feel it is a medical necessity.

There is no doubt that medicines and other products are usually tested on animals before they are permitted to use by human. While I believe that animal testing is morally wrong, this essay would have to support the necessity of animal experimentation for the development purposes. On the one hand, there are clear ethical arguments against animal experimentation. To illustrate this, laboratory mice is given an illness to investigate a new drug’s effects which can be measured. Opponents of this view discuss that, humans do not have any right to abuse animals to this kind of researches, and that the lives of all creatures should be respected. They believe that the benefits to humans do not justify the suffering caused, and that scientists should use alternative methods of research. On the other hand, the reliable alternatives should be considered instead of animal experimentation. Advocates of using animals in medical development argue that a certain number of suffering on the part of mice or rats can be justified if human lives are saved. They illustrate that opponents of such research might feel differently if a member of their own families needed a medical treatment that had been developed using animal experimentation. Generally, I believe that banning of animal testing for non-medical products is necessary, but I think that it may be vital where new drugs and medical procedures are concerned. In conclusion, it seems that it would be wrong to ban testing on animals for vital medical research until equally effective alternatives have been developed.