Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

The purpose of art is washing the dust of daily life off our souls. ” – Pablo Picasso. Nowadays, more and more people contend that the government should invest more money in public services instead of the arts. Others argue that theatre, music, painting and other kinds of art are very important for us. In this essay, I would like to consider both opinions and express my point of view on this issue. I absolutely support the idea that public services are essential to our society and should be invested in a proper way. We cannot have good health without hospitals or good education without schools and that is not all. Public services cover human basic needs and make them not worry about their future. People feel more comfortable, calm and happy when live in a developed society. But I dare say that the arts are equally important as public services because They are closely linked to cultural, educational and even economic pillars. Painting, theatre, and music are closely related to human history die to the fact that they are historical record, a preservation of culture, and an autobiography all in one. Arts be the heritage and distinctive feature of the country that the government should save and invest in. For instance, ballet in Russia, opera in Austria, architecture in Spain and painting in France. In conclusion, I would like to say that the arts can be as indispensable as public services. As pointed out by Dalton Henris on his research conducted at Harvard University, creating art is a primal human behaviour and we need it because it makes us complete human beings.