Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions.

Recently, the increase in the crime rate among young people has been considered as a pressing issue in many parts of the world. However, before some feasible measures can be offered, it is necessary to figure out the underlying causes of the growth in youth-perpetrated crime. To begin with, living in a dysfunctional family emerges as the root cause of this phenomenon. As a matter of fact, most of the parents do not give their children sufficient attention owing to their hectic work schedules as they believe that by striving to get involved in lucrative jobs, they can enable their children to have a bright future. Consequently, these neglected children will be likely to engage in delinquent activities to draw their parents’ attention. Besides, watching movies with violent content would also be a trigger for the growth of crime. By having frequent exposure to films containing sensitive and unsuitable scenes without parental guidance, adolescents are more likely to imitate negative behaviour, such as assault, rape and even murder. Fortunately, a few steps can be taken to mitigate this problem. Firstly, parents should spend quality time with their kids since family time has a great impact on children’s cognitive development and behaviour. According to a research gathered by Family Facts, those who have a close-knit family are less likely to engage in illegal activities. Moreover, parents should also impose some constraints on the amount of time of staring at technological devices’ screens and make sure if the content is appropriate for children. Besides, by focusing on educating children socially and emotionally, both parents and schools can immensely keep committing crimes among teenagers at bay. In conclusion, the crime wave among young people can link to the lack of family attention, supervision and negative effects that violent films have on children. However, taking care more of these kids and schooling them both socially and emotionally are viable ways to tackle this issue.