Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

Over the past few years, people have been bombarded with advertisements everywhere they go ranging from homes to streets. Citizen, therefore, raise a controversial question of whether advertising has become so powerful that it can overshadow the actual needs of the community. Despite the profound effects that advertisements exert on customers, poeple's real demands are still not at all influenced by their omnipresence. On the one hand, some people hold a firm belief that advertisers can easily entice customers into buying by creating some kinds of trends and using technological effects. They usually feature celebrities to attract their fans to spend money on their products. To demonstrate their idolatry, some fans are willing to squander money to purchase anything possessed by their favourite stars regardless of their actual needs. Moreover, genuine quality of products is not prioritized by advertisers. Exaggeration can be deployed to create captivation instead of advance warning on the item's downsides. Without full consideration, gullible poeple will be easily be lured into purchasing with the belief that they can get a high-quality product, which is the same as the one advertised. On the other hand, a multitude of customers still make their own decisions based on their demands, unaffected by the compelling advertisements. As a matter of fact, people usually carry out a research on the products, making comparisons and weighing up all the pros and cons before reaching the final conclusion about whether that item is an optimal choic. In addition, nowadays people have a tendency of taking the brands, which have been well-known for their goods of top quality, into account rather than the misleading adertisements. The customers, as a result, are sure that they spend money wisely and can get quality products. Besides, people with limited financial resources usually make meticulous calculations and steer clear of alluring advertisements to opt for products with reasonable prices. In conclusion, although the minority of people are significantly impacted by advertisements, I still wholeheartedly subscribe to the fact that high sales of goods reflect society's necessities and people purchase products because of their own interests.