Some people claim that there are more disadvantages of the car than it's advantages. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having a car.

In recent years, owning a car has become very essential. Many individuals are of the view that there are more downsides to a car than upsides. I strongly disagree with this point of view mainly because the merits such as easy transportation and convinence outweights the demerits such as enviromental pollution and congestion. This essay will discuss both the merits and demerits of owning a car. There are many major upsides to purchasing a vehicle in recent years. One of the major upside is for easy transportation. In other words, a personal means of transportation is more essential and durable than having to take public transportation. Imagine, if you will, a family of five traveling from point A to point B, would move easily in their personal car than in public transport. A study carried out in 2018, by the People's Magazine revealed that about 70% of the population today prefer driving to taking public transportation mainly because of easy commute. Hence, resulting in less public transportation. In addition, this provides convinence to individuals as well as families residing within the countryside where public transportation is minimally available. However, there are also major downsides to this such as enviromental pollution and congestion. One of the major issue facing our environment today is air pollution and this can be caused by smoke from vehciles which depletes the ozone layer. Take for example, the 2019 study carried out by the World's Health Organization which, suggested that about 60% of the ozone layer has been depleted which, is approximately two times more than in 1990. Thus, resulting in major health issues as well as climate changes to the environment. Furthermore, owning a car increases congestion within the society thus, increasing traffic as well as pollution. In conclusion, while there are demerits such as enviromental pollution and congestion, there are also many major benefits to owning a car which includes, easy transportation and also convinence. If the government would provide automatic cars and also increase major roads these would go a long way in aiding the depletion of the ozone layer thereby reducing air pollution and congestion in major cities and towns.