Some people think that developed countries have a higher responsibility to combat climate change than developing countries. Others believe that all countries should have the same responsibilities towards protecting the environment.

There exist a debate on whether or not all nations are equally responsible in the global fight against climate change. Some people believe that expectations should be higher for the wealthier nations, whereas there are others who beg to differ. In the sequel, I will provide a brief justification for each of the aforementioned views. It is often argued that the developed nations are to be blamed for most of the greenhouse gas emissions that took place ever since the industrial revolution. Therefore, it is only fair to expect those nations to encumber most of the actions that are required to mitigate the global warming. This view is brought to challenge by some people who argue that an effective program to counter the climate change could only succeed if every single country gets involved and mandates on its businesses to limit the emission of pollutant gases. Even if it is true that it was the developed countries who damaged the environment in the past, we could not give the developing nations the carte blanche to exacerbate the situation. It seems reasonable that in order to conserve the environment, all countries, no matter developed or developing, should watch for the air pollutant activities within their borders. Yet, one has to consider that not all nations have equal footings when it comes to technological advancements and financial resources. Therefore, there has to be some level of help from the developed countries for those nations in the third world who cannot afford to implement the required measures.