Today, the high sales of consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. with this opinion?

In recent times, the demand of consumer goods has increased rapidly. Thesedays, the consumption of consumer goods have increased due to the strong promotion rather than the increase of real need. I completely agree with this statement and will elaborate my point of view in subsequent paragraphs. In last few years, power of advertising has changed the buying pattern of consumer goods. Few years back people used to buy those things that they need, however, nowadays, the things which are being purchased are luxurious. For example, the trend of buying new cars has dramatically increased over the past few years. Although, most of the people can not afford it to buy on their own, they take loans from banks and buy it, even though, they do not need of their own car but they just get influenced from bank advertisement. After that, the consumption of ready made food has also increased over the last decade or so. Though, these are extremely bad for health and costly aswell, the sales of these food going high as the time progressing. For instance, there was no concept of freezing food in 1990's, but today, we can find freezing food in almost every house. Although, these foods cause heart problems and as well as obesity problems. Even though, people consuming these foodd more and more, just because of advertisement they see on television or social networking websites. In conclusion, I would like to say that I agree with the statement that has been given in the question that most of the things people buy these days are the result of strong advertisement rather than they need them.