Professional athletes in popular sports such as football and basketball are paid millions of dollars. Some people believe this is unfair, especially since other professions, such as nurses and primary teachers are paid such low salaries.

In my opinion, professional athletes such as football and basketball are not overpaid. Well, they might make lots of money, but the truth is, most professional athletes don’t have long careers, and also come with a lot of risks that may hurt their bodies. Firstly, the main reason I think that professional athletes are not overpaid is their short careers. For example, professional athletes such as basketball and football, their “golden career age” are around 12 years. They are making money in really short times, not like other professions such as teachers or doctors. Secondly, professional athletes have really high risk to hurt or break their bodies. They are in strong competitions with lots of limb collision. Means, of course, easily get harmed. When they are getting harmed, fortunate athletes may just rest for a couple of weeks, but some unfortunate athletes will end their athletic career immediately. For example, some well-known basketball players such as Yao-Ming, Rose and Tracy McGrady, these players will have bright careers if they are not get harmed, but they do, and can’t play basketball anymore. Thirdly, fans. All professional athletes have fans, their “high salaries” have a count of a large part from their fans. As long as the fans keep supporting their favourite teams, their favourite athletics, the professional athletes will not have a low salary. To sum up, combine the following points, I don’t think professional athletes are overpaid, they paid a lot to reach their achievements, they are presenting their never-give-up spirits to everyone who watched their games. They worth it.