Today, people in many countries can live and work anywhere they choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

The improvement in communication technology and transport has enabled people throughout the world to move to any place where they can live a new life and work. This can have a positive effect on one’s career and the whole society, although it has its drawback. Thanks to technological advances in communication and transportation, people can live wherever they like and improve the standard of living because they have better opportunities to advance their careers. Regional disparities are clear in the world, and some cities or countries do not have many job or business opportunities. Therefore, people choose to move to large cities or foreign countries when they can keep in touch with their family by using mobile phones and online communication tools, and visit their relatives by travelling by air or train. As they can seize more opportunities for career advancement, they are able to increase their income and achieve their potential. On the other hand, one disadvantage of living and working in their favourite places is that they are not able to maintain a good relationship with each other and experience a sense of alienation. They live far away from other members of family so they may not have shared life experiences and they fail to provide encouragement when their parents or children face challenges. In addition, as they move around a lot, it is difficult for them to stay in contact with friends or develop a close relationship with neighbours. The consequence is that they will become less sociable and feel disconnected from their family, despite the availability of advanced communication and transportation. They suffer a sense of loneliness. In conclusion, technological change may provide more career opportunities for people, although it may have a negative effect on their social and family life.