Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present age, it is more inquired than ever that where the origin of the food is and how it was delivered all the way through until the consumption phase. Many people argue that the local food market ought to be encouraged as it contains environmental and financial results that hold advantageous and disadvantageous aspects. I strongly believe that the local food preference obviously includes more advantages than handicaps it has. It is an undeniable fact that each species of plant and products require unique conditions to reach an optimum level of efficiency in terms of taste, quality and quantity. To clarify, some sort of fruits demand the temperature and the rain ratio of tropical climate to evolve the most amusing level of taste whilst some need the draining night winds and extreme temperature alterations throughout the day and night of deserts such as coconuts and betel nuts respectively. As a matter of fact, the effort in order farmers to plant these extremist fruits, would be wasted as the outcome in profit margin and taste wise would not be sufficient. On the other hand, advocating the territorial planters, promotes the local economy and also the cooperation with the environment instead of rivalling, gives rise to less harm among our ancient accompany. First of all, the more local farmers find place in the market the more enthusiastic they get since this sort of boost would prevent them to use of cut way methods and hazardous chemicals for the purpose of getting more products with less economical investment. This mentality provides mutual beneficial consequences for both producers and local consumers in the long term. Furthermore, if, for example, products which are locally based are preferred more often, this sets a barrier against the inorganic food creation since demand will take a nosedive and less fuel oil requirement for the distant journeys that would cause the catastrophic impact among the world. As a conclusion, the preference of the local production against the foods which take hundreds of kilometres trips to take place before us, has more advantageous angles than the handicaps it has regarded with economic and environmental manners and it should be a core value for the whole world to keep local farms alive as it harbours crucial outcomes inside.