Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Globalization turns the world as a global village. Due to this, even food eaten by humans is sourced internationally. Some individuals believe this is better for environment and the economy of any country, while others has adverse opinion. In this essay we analyse the upsides and downsizes of local buying edible only and provide a logical conclusion. There are twofold benefits to buying local. Firstly, purchasing locally can prevent significant air pollution and reduce global warming. For instance, today’s food is transported from long distance via Lorries and huge trucks which release harm gases and this is main cause of air pollution. Hence, the export stopped, the ill effects on environment and as well as on human life is prevented. Furthermore, if we purchase only locally it will strengthen our peasant and their income will be increased. Which can be beneficial for the nation economy. To cite an example, survey done by times of India showed that if the income of Indian peasant will increase to 5% annually it would benefit country by 3%. However, there are some drawbacks to this. Many nations solely depends to other republics for ingredients. The export region, have millions of acres of land cover with crops. If we stop exporting this industry will badly affected. There are many people who affiliated with export sector including farmers, drivers, farmer workers and others. For Example the Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI) proven that 60% of Indian produces are imported and this sector provides 20% jobs to their people. Hence, if exportation stop these people will be unemployed. Furthermore, society is dependent on foreign spices to enjoy their meals. They would not able to this if transport of food cease. To illustrate, most of the restaurants using foreign spices if this stop, they will be shutting down. To sum up, local buying have some drawbacks which affect export industry. Although, it has certain benefits for farmers and environment. Therefore, we can say the advantages are not outweigh the disadvantages.