Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With the growth of supermarket sectors all over the world, customers can find international food at one stop. Some people think that food imported from distant lands has a negative effect on the local economy and culture. They are of the opinion that localities must prefer eating regionally with farmers and local producers. In my opinion, more popularity of regional food will help in the business and employment locally. Local foods are beneficial not only for the economy, but for the environment as well. Primarily, locally grown food items are more nutritious and are free from artificially added preservatives. Regional food is much healthier and fresher as it does not consume transit facilities unlike the processed grocery food items hence saving the fossil fuels too. For example, local fruits and spices are tastier and organic than the chemically processed ones. Farmers too can get international opportunities and recognition, thereby attracting tourism and promoting agritourism. On the contrary, with globalization, consumers get the privilege to enjoy meal from all over the world without travelling to far off places. People can choose from a variety of options available in the market. Like for instance, consumers of western cultures can easily enjoy Indian cuisine at their local supermarkets and vice versa. Getting to taste international snack helps locals to understand the culture and build international brotherhood among nations. In addition, export and import of various cuisine items bring a positive effect on the economy of the countries. It can be concluded that consuming regionally produced food has economic and environmental benefits. Though we can get our hands on foreign food items easily, promoting local food would help local market gain profits.