Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farms that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

When people purchase food products, they may face the dilemma of whether to consume locally-produced foods, or imported from far-away farms. While only consuming food produced locally brings some benefits for the environment and the economy, excluding food from other areas is not a wise idea. On the one hand, there are several benefits of eating food produced by local farmers only. Admittedly, consuming local food products could contribute to protecting the environment. Purchasing locally manufactured food means there may be fewer uses of long-distance transportations or chemicals to maintain flavours of the food. Therefore, less toxic emissions from transporting vehicles or food preservation chemicals release into the atmosphere, which results in the reduction of environmental pollution. Moreover, it would be likely to boost economic growth if more local food were consumed. When people buy more locally-produced food, they are supporting local farmers and food producers, thereby making sure they earn a sufficient living. The intensive demands for healthy and fresh food tend to create jobs for local people, which develops the local economy. Despite the advantages mentioned above, I believe that they are outweighed by the following problems. Firstly, it could narrow the variety of food when only using local food products. Many factors such as seasonal growing, climate or soil content may prohibit the growth of items in local farms, which makes some particular food do not grow worldwide. As a result, not having the diversity of food items tends to unable to satisfy the needs of customers. Secondly, accommodating regional food only could increase the number of food wasted problems. The lack of imported items makes local farmers less competitive since they are alone in the market, consequently, the food with the organic trademarks could be expensive. Costumers then seek more economical choices, which results in a colossal amount of resources being wasted. In conclusion, I firmly believe that the advantages of consuming regional food are negated by the disadvantages.