Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school.

Watching television (especially informative television) is regarded as an effective method of learning, because audio-visual information can attract students’ attention and engage their interest. Although many TV programmes have educational value, I do not agree with the idea of increasing screen time. Television viewing can interfere with children’s studies and other activities which can benefit these children’s intellectual development. They may not able to achieve good grades in exams because screen time displaces the time they could spend doing homework. It is also worrying to see that television viewing can crowd out those activities which can improve children’s intellectual skills, such as reading, playing chess and board games. Another problem is that long screen time can limit children’s social development. Those children who sit in front of their TV many hours, instead of playing games with their peers and communicating with teachers. They will become unsociable and unwilling to express their views and understand the thoughts of other people. Without good communication skills, they will have difficulty in gaining knowledge, drawing upon the ideas of classmates or teachers, and achieving academic success. On the other hand, I understand that television has exposed children to a world of knowledge. There are many educational programmes aimed for children, allowing them to gain an insight into different subjects. For example, documentaries can help children learn about historical events while foreign language channels can help them acquire foreign languages. This kind of knowledge can complement what they learn at school. To summaries, I would argue that parents and teachers should impose restrictions on children’s television viewing, although television shows are a source of knowledge. Watching TV can have an adverse impact on exam grades and social skills.