Share an experience when you had an issue with your friend and how you overcame it

Many of us have arguments and misunderstandings with our friends, and I am not an exception. Since I met my friend 2. 5 years ago, he has left in the middle of conversation several times or did not reply my messages after reading them. The most recent incident was just 3 days ago, he suddenly became silent when we were texting on WhatsApp. I did not understand what happened, and then several thoughts come through my mind, including the very negative ones, such as “he does not care what I am talking about”, “he is not interested”, or even “I’m not important”. I soon felt disappointed and thought about drifting apart. The next morning when I calmed down, I thought I might have taken it personally. I decided to call him and talk it through. I told him how I feel and let him explain what happened. He said when I texted him, he thought I just simply made a statement and that he did not have to respond. He validated my emotions and we agreed that we would be more responsive and discuss openly any issues that may cause mis-communication. From the experience, I’ve learnt that we need to be open and straightforward, rather than keep it personally and let our ego interpret the actions in different ways, which may not necessarily the intention of our friend. I can then trust our friendship more. I realize that an argument with a friend can be a good thing in disguise, it is actually an opportunity to boost understanding and learn to act in a more mature manner.