Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

In the era of modernization, the ratio of overweight people is constantly increasing day by day. This essay will highlight the main reasons for this widespread issue and further describe the potential impact of obesity. In my opinion, the foremost causes of gaining weight are inactive lifestyles and harmful leisure activities. We are living in the world where technology has commendable influence in human life due to which people have fewer physical demands at work. The example can be seen in our surroundings, after a tough day at the office, many professional workers tend to relax by surfing social media sites at home rather than doing some healthy activity like a walk or gym. Furthermore, children prefer video games over other physical healthy sports. Moreover, people who commit fewer activities while consuming excessive food, especially junk food, would lead to being overweight. By adopting this routine, they burn fewer calories and results in gaining weight. The possible crucial outcome of being overweight is the loss of productivity and health related problems. First of all, obese people are unable to work effectively on a daily basis and they feel tired all the time. This lessens their work capacity and results in lower productivity. For instance, it has been proven by recent research that an obese person needs to put more effort to complete particular tasks than a person with normal weight. Secondly, obesity results in the improper functioning of the human body and contribute to the risk of developing some chronic illness. For example, as body fat percentage increases, the metabolism of a person's body worsens, which becomes the primary cause of developing diabetes or heart diseases. In conclusion, obesity is a detrimental problem that has a plethora of effects on human life. It’s mainly caused by lazy way of living and unhealthy free-time activities which results in severe long-term problems and lack of productivity.