Today more people are overweight than ever before. what in your opinion is the primary cause of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

Nowadays, obesity became as a crucial health issue all over the world than past years. In my opinion the main cause of this problem is the sedentary lifestyle of people and the possible solution for this is creating awareness among individuals. Sedentary lifestyle is the fundamental reason of a significant raise in the number of obesity cases. This is because of the decreased physical activity and increased fast food consumption. In other words, jobs like teaching and banking demands less physical activities than farming, which was the most popular occupation in previous decades. In addition, consumption of fast foods like burgers and hot dogs, which contains more fat content enhanced obesity among people. A study, for instance, conducted by WHO found that almost 60 percent of young adults are diagnosed as obese in the New York city in 2018. Creating awareness among people is one of the best solution for this raising issue because most of the people are unaware about the detrimental effects of obesity in health. Government can encourage people to do regular physical activities by providing low cost fitness centres across the country. Furthermore, education on healthy food habits from school periods helps to ameliorate the healthy lifestyle of younger generations. For example, a survey conducted by the Queen's university among their students found that 70 percent of them are avoiding regular exercise due to its high cost. In conclusion, the number of people becoming obese is increasing rapidly. I reiterate that the basic cause of obesity is lethargic life routine and the effective solution is providing knowledge about the negative impact of it on people's lives.