Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

These days, a vast number of youngsters are found to spend huge amount of time on virtual games rather than, outdoor activities. This essay will explain the root cause of this situation and furthermore, will express how this is a negative growth. The Fundamental reason why children prefer gaming applications over a sport is because they provide a thrilling experience. Although these games are virtual, the 3d visualizations in these games make them believe that the gaming environment is real and thereby, make them addicted. For example, It is reported by NDTV that, children who play, one of the popular games nowadays, called "Pub G" are involved into the game so much, that, they do not realize that they have crossed 6 hours per day limit. Excessively spending time on such games is definitely detrimental for youngsters. Children are deteriorating health and losing their precious time that could be utilised in future building skills. Moreover, they are unable to perform well in academics as they are not mentally and physically prepared for the examinations. For instance, when a survey was conducted by an educational consulting organisation, to understand the impact of such games on students grades, it was found that 95% of students who do not play such games passed in all the subjects. On the contrary, only 30% of students who play such games have managed to clear all academic subjects. In conclusion, these days, children are spending a larger amount of time playing online computer games than outdoor activities, due to an element such as thrill. This is potentially leading to adverse ramifications.