Today many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and little time on sports. Why is it? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, most kids enjoy spending time playing video games, leaving a small amount of time to engage in physical activities. One possible reason is that parents have hectic schedules preventing them to spend time with their children, however, I believe that it is causing a negative impact on a child mental and physical health. It is undeniable that parents these days have busy agendas, where they can barely take their kids to enjoy outdoor activities. In other words, both mothers and fathers spend most of their time juggling between their work and chores around the house. As a result, they leave their children to spend time playing computer games where they can keep their children busy in order to finish their tasks. For instance, a working mother finds it more suitable to keep her child enjoy the Ipad to be able to cook a meal or do the laundry. However, not doing enough sports is harmful for a human health, especially for kids. To state this in other terms, a kid spending most of his leisure time playing virtual games, and living a sedentary lifestyle, is at risk of having health issues such as cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, and obesity. For example, a recent study in the United States showed kids who are enrolled in physical activities grow older with a better immunity system than kids who are living a sedantary life. In conclusion, engaging most of the time in virtual computer games is caused by the busy lifestyle of parents, nevertheless it is affecting negatively the wellbeing of a child.