The internet has brought about many changes into our day to day life. Nowadays we are doing things such as mailing, contacting, banking and communication much faster. Do these developments have more advantages than disadvantages?

The internet has great effects on people's lives. It has changed the way we communicate with each other, transact business and access information. Not only does the internet have positive aspects, but it also has negatives. However, I believe that it merits overcome its demerits. Concerning the advantages, the internet has many beneficial sides. It has saved people time and efforts. Nowadays, people can participate meetings online through different webinars without the need to travel abroad. Additionally, the distance between people is reduced as they can now contact with their families, friends or colleagues faster and easier by using different mobile applications and social media accounts like Facebook or Twitter. Moreover, online shopping and banking have saved people time. They can purchase books, clothes or household appliances just by one click on Amazon or Souq. Also, the massive open online courses are another good beneficial side. People are able to learn new languages or other materials which build up their knowledge and enrich their experiences. On the other hand, the internet has negative effects on our children and teenagers. They may be exposed to dangerous ideas and beliefs. A recent article is published in the New York Times has figured out that 32% of American youngsters have tried to commit suicide because of the movements and games on the internet like The Blue Whale. Therefore, parents have to monitor the content which their children access to the internet. Moreover, the internet addiction is another disadvantage as many people have spent lots of hours switching between social media platforms and this may unfortunately affect their careers and relationships. In conclusion, the internet has many positive sides, although its negatives which can be reduced by implementing proper laws and under complete parental supervision.