Some people think that art is an essential subject for children while others think that is is a waste of time.

Although some individuals believe that art is a vital part of children's school curriculum, others consider it as a time waster. In my opinion, I think art is an important aspect of people's lives and should be tautht as a key subject for children in schools. On the one hand, certain individuals feel that its necessary for to children should study art in schools for some reasons. Firstly, they consider it as a good tool for self expression in children. Studies have shown that because young children are exposed to graphic images frequently such as cartoons, they express themselves better when they draw as this activity is fun and pleasurable and a good means of communicating their intents with their peers. Secondly, keeping art as an important subject for children is believed by some to be an effective method of developing talents early in life. This is particularly evident as some children are art prodigies and this skill is discovered during school lessons in majority of cases. For example, W. A. Mozart a music prodigy attested to the fact that his teacher noticed and developed his talent in playing the keyboard when he was seven years old during his music lessons. On the other hand, a number of people feel that studying art as a subject in shhools is unimportant and a waste of time. Proponents of this view believe that time spent doing this should be channelled towards teaching students subjects that would enable them apply for professional courses of study later in life. They feel that the future favours people with certificates in such areas of professionalism like medicine, law, amongst others rather than art. Another point they make is that art forms a minority of every nations sector and only favours those gifted in it. Thus children with no interest or skill in art studying it as a subject in schools is unnecessary, while those with talents in art could be enrolled in special extracurricular art courses for further training. However, in my view, I agree with the notion that art is an essential part of people's lives and should be taught to children in schools as earlier discussed in this essay. In addition, every individual in one way or another use a form of art as a stress reliever and developing this area early in life helps people to effectively incorporate it into their lives later in the future. For example, painting, doodling, dancing or even listening to music is done by a vast majority of people either for fun or to destress; exposing children to such activities would help to groom them to be balanced adults. To conclude, while some believe that studying art in schools is a waste of time, others feel that it should be a vital subject taught to children. I agree that art is an important subject that children should be taught seeing that it is essential in raising balanced adults who can use it effectively to destress.