These days people are living into their 90's and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care for the elderly. Do you think it is the responsibility of the family to care for their elderly members or should the government be held responsible?

Nowadays the human lifespan is extended thanks to remarkable developments in biotechnology, resulting in rising concern over the matter of catering for old people. Some people argue that every family is responsible for taking care of their elders, while others believe it is the government that should take charge of this mission. From my point of view, the descendants should take care of their parents and grandparents, but with assistance from the government. To begin with, people should care for their parents and grandparents as a way to fulfill filial duty. To be more specific, the elderly are the ones to give birth, provide education, care, and support, both financially and mentally, for the young throughout their development. Thus, when people become mature and can provide for themselves, they should ensure that their parents enjoy a happy and healthy life. On the contrary, if humans fail to support their parents, or worse, neglect and abandon their parents, it would be morally and socially unacceptable. Moreover, it is seemingly undeniable that family members are the best caretakers for the old. That is to say, people in one family know each other’s habits and interests; therefore, they can cater for their elders thoughtfully and appropriately without missing important details. For this reason, parents and grandparents would feel much more comforted and relieved when staying at home with their children than in a nursing home with strange people. Additionally, although family members should be responsible for their parents and grandparents, the government should be held accountable for providing support to guarantee a good life for the seniors. Specifically, the authority should enforce policies on social welfare, such as free healthcare and adequate pensions, to maximize the benefits for old people. In a nutshell, it is undeniable that family members should take responsibility for taking care of the elders as a way to show respect and appreciation towards them. However, the government should also provide senior citizens with financial aid or social welfare to ensure their well-being.