IN SOME COUNTRIES PEOPLE ARE NOT TAKING CARE OF THEIR ELDERLY RELATIVES SOME BELIEVE THAT THE ELDERLY PEOPLE SHOULD LIVE IN NURSING HOME WHERE TRAINED PROFESSIONAL CARE For THE ELDERLY OTHERS THINK THEY SHOULD LIVE WITH THE YOUNGER FAMILY MEMBERS DISCUSS

Old people play the significant roles in modern society nowadays. However, the question of who will hold the responsibility of looking after the parents and grandparents when they get old is a heated debate. Meanwhile, the situation of putting senior citizens into nursing home is also a common situation in many households. On the one hand, elderly people living in nursing homes is an alternative that brings about a lot of benefits. In these places, old people have more opportunities to communicate with their counterparts/ their peers. With each other’s company, these old people do not feel lonely and can also do a great deal of things together, such as exchanging memories of their time. Besides, the most important benefit is that old people can receive professional medical care from professional doctor. In contrast, at homes, due to busyness, their children cannot look after them. On the other hand, however, a great proportion of population hold the belief that it is the responsibility of offspring to look after their parents and grandparents when these people get old and grey. In actual fact, old people are treasure of society. Old people can make use of their expertise and wisdom to teach children how to differentiate between good and bad, right and wrong. Besides, it is a luck for the children to have chances to share house with the elderly relatives to repay what these people have received. This is not to mention the usefulness of elderly people when they can do household chores, and volunteering. In conclusion, from my point of view, it depends on the circumstance of each family to decide who to take care of the elderly relatives.