These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the introduction of advanced ways of communication has brought the globe into one small village, but despite this fact, there are still some people who think that this advancement in telecommunication has many drawbacks. Although it is much more convenient to contact someone living far away through the internet, some individuals think that communication itself lost its emotional value. No one can deny that it is much easier now to reach to a relative who lives in a different continent, which is why many people nowadays consider a smartphone to be one of the essential gadgets to carry around while travelling. For instance, if someone is travelling to a different country to attend university, his family members can effortlessly check his updates through social networking websites. In addition, the internet not only makes communication between people easier, but also makes it more accessible to receive worldwide news. However, many people believe that communicating through virtual means resulted in a significant loss of emotions. That is to say, when speaking on the phone to a friend who needs emotional support, you do not really get the chance to enjoy the pleasure of physical contact which is indeed a crucial matter. Furthermore, many studies have been made to prove the importance of physical means of interaction such as hugging and shaking hands. In conclusion, it seems reasonable to suggest that the recent advancement in communication is of great benefit to many people. Though there might be some drawbacks to using these recent methods of communication, the positive outcomes of bringing people who live far away from one another and the convenience it brings to reach out for anyone living anywhere in the world makes the internet certainly a more advantageous tool.